GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Stone wool versus blown-in cellulose insulation in double wall assembly

Myrtleboone | Posted in Energy Efficiency and Durability on

I am designing a wall assembly for a home in a very cold climate Zone 7. Considering labor and material costs, what is the most cost effective insulation providing me with the highest thermal resistance? I like the fire resistance of Roxul stone wool batts and the idea that it’s more DIY. How about the air transference between the two products? Thanks.

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. user-901114 | | #1

I'm no expert but in regard to price, you'll want to get two quotes for comparison. One for roxul from the Home Depot bid room for roxul. They are cheaper than Lowes in the north east. I'm in NH. Orders over $2500 will get you a discount. I have a spreadsheet that breaks down the cubic inches and cubic feet of the different size batts, that way you can make decisions between batt sizes if you have options. I can email it to you. The second price will be for DP cellulose including labor because I assume you can't store and DP cellulose yourself. I didn't bother looking at the cellulose option because I like DIY of roxul. I assume roxul will have a higher perm but the experts here will have to confirm. Take both products and spray some water on them.. Then ask yourself which you'd rather have in your walls. Maybe it's better to have insulation that stores moisture but I preffered the way Roxul seems to shed water. But perhaps this puts more moisture on the studs. I'd also suggest treating your studs with boric acid if you have time.