GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Bathroom/laundry vents through HRV?

jimblodgett | Posted in General Questions on

We are building a super insulated house. I’ve been a carpenter long enough and studied enough that I’m confidant the envelope will be tight.

The thing I am least comfortable designing is the ventilation system. I am planning a balanced, ducted system, with the HRV acting as the air handler. Simple enough to balance if the system includes only fresh and exhaust air, but what about bath and laundry area fans? Do you run those through the HRV as well?

And what about the kitchen range vent? If these DON’T run through the HRV, where does their make up air come from? Passive vents?

Thanks for any opinions – jim

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. Riversong | | #1

You don't indicate your location or climate, but if you're building a truly superinsulated house I'll assume you're in a cold, heating-dominated climate.

Never run a kitchen range hood through an HRV. The aerosolized grease will destroy it, and because there is often some amount of cross-over the combustion gasses can also be problematic.

You may want to have an exhaust port in the kitchen, but it should be at least 10' from the range. If the range hood moves more than 250 cfm, you should have a make-up air source - particularly if there's any atmospherically-vented combustion appliances (which shouldn't be included in a super-tight home).