GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Building a home – to code?

hookum | Posted in Building Code Questions on

Hello all,

Thanks for taking the time to read my post. I am in the process of designing a small (~ 700 sq. ft.), off-grid house. My intention is to do as much of the design and construction as possible with my own head and hands.

I’ve been a car mechanic for 10 years, and so have a good understanding of the basic principles of electricity (the house will use 12V wherever possible), HVAC, plumbing, etc. However, I don’t have much in the way of hands-on experience with construction.

Two questions (among many) occur:
1. How feasible and to what degree is this possible? In other words, is it an unreasonable goal?
2. Is it possible to pass code without relying on contractors?

This second question is the one I’m most concerned about. I did some preliminary Googling, and took a look at the Portland, OR building codes, just to get an idea of what different municipalities require (I live in WA). They seem to hand out building permits to anyone smart enough to wield a pencil and straight-edge. But I imagine things like electrical would need some sort of sign-off from a licensed professional.

Where can I get more information on this? I’m OK with delegating (and hence paying for) work where it’s prudent to do so, but I’d like to do as much as possible myself.

Thanks for your input, I look forward to hearing some great ideas!

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. DIYJester | | #1