GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Foam sheathing & spray foam

dbtarr | Posted in Energy Efficiency and Durability on

I am an engineer working on a set of plans for a new house for me & my family.

The structure will be located in the Northern edge of Zone 4A.

I originally wanted to use SIP’s for the walls of the house; however, the cost to benefit ratio is just not there. So, I started researching other building techniques that I could incorporate into this project. I see the benefits of airtight construction and I really like the benefits of spray foam insulation. These “newer” techniques are not readily used in my area; therefore, I do not have a lot of hands on experience with them. I live in a “16” o/c with Batt Insulation is the only way to build a house” area.

Proposed Wall Construction:
~ 2″ x 4″ Wood Studs @ 24″ o/c. Hardie Plank Lap Siding will be used for the exterior finish.
~ The interior finish will be 1/2″ airtight drywall.
~ As currently designed, sheathing is not required for racking strength.
~ The project is located in an area of rural Southern Indiana that essentially has no applicable residential building codes.

Here is my question…
If I sheath the house with 1″ (R-5) Extruded Polystyrene (taped and caulked), would it be in anyway beneficial use 1/2″ or 1″ of Open Cell Spray Foam or should I just use R-13 Batt Insulation?

I can purchase the Extruded Polystyrene for the same price as 1/2″ OSB. Since I have to install some sort of sheathing for the spray foam, why not get a little extra insulation of the same price?

Most of the exterior stud walls are basically curtain walls. Is there another, construction technique that you might recommend for these curtain walls?