GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Help with installing a solar water heater using solar electric modules

Sumintra | Posted in General Questions on

I’m a solar contractor in the Philadelphia region. I’ve installed traditional solar water heaters using flat plate collectors but a homeowner has asked me to install a solar water heater using solar electric modules and a heat pump. This is new to me, I did some basic online research and came across an article on this site written by Martin Holladay, “Solar Thermal is Dead.”

I found a company, Sun Bandit, that does not use a heat pump but rather uses energy from solar electric modules to heat an element in a tank. But the price for their package isn’t any cheaper than if I were to install a traditional flat plate solar water heater for my customer.

How do I design a solar electric water heating system? How many solar modules do I need? What other components do I need? Are there other manufacturers besides SunBandit that sell a prepackaged product?

I’d greatly appreciate any help you all can throw my way.

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #1

Anil,
    My article discussed the question of whether an investment in a solar thermal system was cost-effective. I concluded that it usually wasn't.

In that article, I compared the cost of a solar thermal system with the cost of an electric water heater and a PV system large enough to supply the water heater with enough electricity on an annual basis to heat enough gallons of hot water to satisfy the typical American family.