GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

How to insulate a steel building?

woodman711 | Posted in General Questions on

As way of introduction I live in Fair hill MD on an acre lot.I consider myself to be a handyman and not afraid to do most of all the renovations to this gem in the rough!

I have no experience working on steel buildings and would like to do this job right the first time. I would like to know the best way to insulate a steel building. I bought my house 4 years ago and now getting around to setting up my woodshop in this pre existing steel building. The building itself is on a concrete pad. The steel building was added to the back of a wooden garage which the neighbors told me was cut in half and move to this site on flatbed trucks. Therefore the steel building itself is has only 3 sides steel. I have read a good deal online about insulating steel buildings. The more I read, the info becomes more conflicted depending on which manufacturer is selling what product eg. foam, bubble wrap types, fiberglass, etc. I will include some pictures for clarification.

Thanks for any help you can give me,

Vinny

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #1

Vinny,
    This type of building can be tricky to insulate.

1. You don't really want the insulation to touch any of your metal panels.