GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Cycle Stop Valves

calum_wilde | Posted in Mechanicals on

Has anyone looked in to Cycle Stop Valves for residential use? Do the motors really reduce their power consumption when throttled? How does the use of a pressure reducing valve effect the pump and motor cooling? Any other side effects I haven’t considered?

Thanks guys.

GBA Prime

Join the leading community of building science experts

Become a GBA Prime member and get instant access to the latest developments in green building, research, and reports from the field.

Replies

1. GBA Editor
    Martin Holladay | | #1

Calum,
    A little web surfing provides mixed reviews for this product. Full disclosure: I have no experience with cycle stop valves.

http://forums.finehomebuilding.com/breaktime/general-discussion/cycle-stop-valves
    "A cycle stop valve works by creating artificial head against the pump. The heat I mentioned is not generated by the pump, but rather the electric motor driving the pump. Yes, it is in water but it relies on that water flowing past it to cool it. In the case of a flow restriction, water is not flowing past fast enough to provide adequate cooling. This is where the cooling sleeve comes in. By installing a 4 inch pump and motor in a 4 inch cooling sleeve, the velocity of the water is increased so that even in low flow conditions, the motor remains cool."

http://www.plumbingzone.com/f2/cycle-stop-valves-15455/