GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Hydronic radiant design questions

Bdgray | Posted in Mechanicals on

Hello GBA,

I posted a pretty naive question last week regarding selecting the proper heat source. I’m not an HVAC expert by any stretch but as an owner of multiple degrees and a home improvement nut, I don’t want to back away from this just because it is quite a bit more intricate than I realized.

I’m in the process of educating myself on hydronic systems. I’ve purchased one text book and downloaded a design manual from Uponor (light reading). I know phase one is just to get an understanding of how the various components come together to form the system. That said, I couldn’t help myself and I’ve also downloaded a number of software packages (all free via trial) to begin the design process. I realize this is putting the cart before the horse to some extent.

With that said, I have some general questions as I begin educating myself.
1) Is this the best forum to ask questions? I’ve received excellent advice thus far but I suspect there are websites dedicated to hydronic design. I post here because I subscribe to GBA and FHB.
2) Cost not being the primary concern (we’re a modest home surrounded by million dollar mansions), in a between joist retrofit is it correct to assume that heavy extruded aluminum plates will deliver the best results and lowest operating temperatures? I’ve seen a number of options including thinner (and cheaper) aluminum sheeting, new graphite plates, and fins (where the pex doesn’t touch the subfloor). No need for a lengthy explanation. It seems to make sense that a thick aluminum plate with solid contact to the tubing would transfer the most heat from the pex. Would just like validation.