GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Miscellaneous Insulation Questions

dmbaca | Posted in General Questions on

Hi all,

I posted my first question last night after months and months of reading. Now that I’m over that hurdle, I thought I’d ask a few more about a house I’m building for my family in CZ 4A.

1. 2×6 construction with headers built up (1 ply, 2 ply, 3 ply) depending on load requirements (I’m a structural engineer and designed the house). There was a thread that I understood to say that filling the remaining portion of the cavity with foam (I’d be using the pink, Owens Corning Foamular board) was not really worth the effort. Is there any harm in doing it? (ie, 1″ or 2″ is too thin and cause moisture problems? As I understand it. Foamular is a vapor retarder and since I don’t have any other vapor barriers in the wall, I should be ok.

2. The HVAC contractor installed a 3″x12″ x 2′ tall duct in the wall for the range hood. I’d like to push Foamular behind this as well. Any issues?

3. My stairs are on an exterior wall. The rim joist/band board was framed out as a box beam for the length of the stairs. How do I insulate the box beam? Foam-in-a-can isn’t recommended by the manufacturer because it’s an enclosed space. Dense pack cellulose isn’t ideal because it’s enclosed on all 6 sides. The only options I see are dense pack fiberglass, foamed-in-place foam (“shaving cream” style similar to Polymaster R 501 or Applegate R-Foam), or just air seal it and leave it uninsulated.

4. Despite my best efforts to detail “insulatable corners”, they didn’t all get built that way (and I only have 4 corners x 2 levels!). Some corners are completely boxed off, some have a 1″ gap on the inside face. Similar question to #4…how would you insulate these areas?